Pawar’s remarks on Rahul: Don’t comment if you want stable Maha govt, says Cong leader; ‘fatherly remark,’ clarifies NCP | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Maharashtra Congress leader and cabinet minister Yashomati Thakur on Saturday appealed to the leaders of the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) to stop commenting on her party’s leadership if they want a stable government in Maharashtra.
“Being a working president of MPCC I must appeal to colleagues in MVA if you want stable govt in Maharashtra then stop commenting on leadership of the Congress. Everybody should follow basic rules of coalition,” Thakur tweeted.
“Our leadership is very strong and stable. Formation of MVA is result of our strong belief in democratic values,” she said in another tweet.
Her reaction comes in the wake of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar‘s remark raising questions on Rahul Gandhi‘s ability as a leader.
Pawar, who is one of the main architects of the Maharashtra alliance in an interview had said that Rahul Gandhi’s leadership has “a few problems” and he lacks consistency as a leader.

NCP later clarified that Pawar’s remarks was just a “fatherly advice.”
“Whatever Sharad Pawar Saheb said in the interview with a news organisation should be considered as fatherly advice of a veteran leader. MVA is a government of all three parties. It was Sharad Pawar who criticised Barack Obama for commenting on Rahul Gandhi in his book. Pawar Saheb had clearly said Obama must not comment on leaders of other countries,” NCP leader Mahesh Tapase said.
The MVA government of the Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Congress in Maharashtra, completed its one year on November 28.
It was formed after the 2019 assembly polls.
The BJP, which contested elections with the Shiv Sena, had emerged as the single largest party. However, the two parties parted ways over differences on the CM’s post. Shiv Sena then joined hands with the NCP and the Congress to form the MVA government.
The BJP had won the maximum 105 seats in the Maharashtra Assembly polls held last year, followed by Shiv Sena, which bagged 56 seats. The NCP had won 54 seats and the Congress 44.

Leave a Reply